Home / Featured / FG may revoke Abuja, Ikeja, six Discos’ licences

FG may revoke Abuja, Ikeja, six Discos’ licences

The Federal Government may cancel the licences of eight power distribution companies as the Discos breached some provisions of the Electric Power Sector Reform Act in July 2019.

According to the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission, the eight power firms include Abuja, Benin, Enugu and Ikeja Discos.

Others are  Kaduna, Kano, Port Harcourt and Yola Discos.

In a notice posted on its website on Tuesday evening, the power sector regulator said it intended to cancel licences issued to the eight Discos pursuant to Section 74 of the EPSR Act.

In the eight-page notice to the Discos, which was signed by one of the NERC’s commissioner, Dafe Akpeneye, the commission stated that the power firms had 60 days to explain why their licences should not be cancelled.


Check Also

Anthony Joshua loses close friends to COVID-19

Anthony Joshua has opened up on his heartbreak at losing “close friends” to coronavirus. The …

Commercial driver who tested positive for COVID-19 escapes from Niger isolation centre, another escapes in Osun

A commercial driver who tested positive to coronavirus in Niger State has escaped from the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *